The Feelies News

All Hail The Return Of The Feelies! New Album On The Way

"Fans of ancestral indie rock, get excited." Pitchfork

"The Feelies pushed the rock 'n' roll basics toward the ecstatic." The New York Times

"The band's delicate footprints are still heavily visible on so much contemporary indie rock." Stereogum

We couldn't be any more excited if we TRIED to announce that AMAZING US indie icons The Feelies will release their new album Here Before on April 15, 2011 on Popfrenzy Records!

Cited as a huge influence on dozens of bands including REM, Yo La Tengo, Weezer and Sebadoh, The Feelies avant-garde pop remains a key touchstone of American indie music to this day.

Alongside founding members Glenn Mercer and Bill Million is the Feelies lineup first featured on 1986’s The Good Earth: Brenda Sauter, Stanley Demeski and Dave Weckerman.

The new album touches on different styles from the Feelies' long history while adding new grooves and musical ideas to the mix. Electric and acoustic guitars melt together in archetypal Feelies fashion on songs like 'Nobody Knows' and 'Should be Gone'. Elsewhere there are slabs of driving garage rock like 'When You Know' and 'Time Is Right' and the downtempo 'Bluer Skies', and harmonically rich 'Later On'.

The Feelies became one of the most zealously touted acts on the highly competitive late 70s New York scene and underground heroes in their native New Jersey. They were signed to the trendsetting British label Stiff and released their now classic debut album Crazy Rhythms in 1980. Rolling Stone, Spin and countless other magazines would eventually declare the album one of the greatest of that era.

In 2008, The Feelies reunited to open for long time admirers Sonic Youth at Battery Park and then resurrected their tradition of playing low key gigs around national holidays (many at their old home base, Maxwell's). A highlight of 2009's All Tomorrows Parties festival in New York state was the Feelies playing Crazy Rhythms in its entirety for the very first time, plus a couple of new tracks, raising fans hopes for an album of new material.

![Image Alt Text]( Here Before.jpg)

Here Before Tracklisting:

  1. Nobody Knows
  2. Should Be Gone
  3. Again Today
  4. When You Know
  5. Later On
  6. Way Down
  7. Morning Comes
  8. Change Your Mind
  9. Here Before
  10. Time Is Right 11.Bluer Skies
  11. On And On
  12. So Far

21st March, 2011 : Posted by Admin

Related News

Free Download Of The Feelies 'Should Be Gone' 21st March, 2011